This girl is on Fire!

Two weeks have come and gone and unfortunately it’s my last day here in Vancouver 😦 I wish I could stay longer but the goal is to come back as soon as possible… and bring all the rest of my stuff with me! 🙂

I’ve had such a wonderful time and I’ve been the happiest I could remember feeling since November. It’s been a long hard road to get to where I am today, emotionally speaking. It’s been a trying year and really made me think about everything that I am, that I want to be, and that I could be. Having had the chance to come to Vancouver and explore the city and meet the amazing people that I have along the way had rejuvenated my spirit and I’m excited about what possibilities lie ahead for me now. I’m still worried and scared about what may never come to pass, but I’m learning to slowly let that go and just enjoy the moment and whatever happens is meant to be.

In my short time here I was able to do so much more networking and meeting people in the industry then I ever had before. I attended the Social Media Awards on March 28 and met some amazing people who have offered to help guide me and give me advice towards my career goals in Vancouver. I was able to set up two official follow-up meetings with Marc and Crystal from the event and both were really supportive and really helpful in so many different ways.

Through Lars, whom I met and Jer’s Seder, I was also able to meet some fantastic people at a business networking event. From that, Marshall connected me with Ricardo from Vancouver Weekly, an alternative and entertainment paper, and we really had some great connections. I hope to be able to contribute to his paper in the near future, even on a volunteer basis if it means getting my name out there and letting people see what I can do. The event Lars invited me to also resulted in a few follow-up emails from people who were all willing to help me out in any way they could. At the event I was also introduced to the lovely Roni who is so sweet and genuine and is such a lovely lady. She took me under her wing and gave me a tour of Stanley park and we had a great dinner together. She’s super sweet and I’m so happy to have met her. None of this would have been possible without Lars inviting me to his regular networking lunch and introducing me to everyone. So a big thanks to Lars and subsequently a big thanks to Marshall and Roni as well!

Sometimes you just know something is meant to be and sometimes you don’t. Barriers block your way but you have to look for the ladder or rope being dropped down by a friend to help you climb over the wall to get to the other side. This is what the past two weeks in Vancouver had done for me, they’ve offered me a rope and a ladder and a glimpse at what could be. Event last night, my final night in Vancouver, Jer and I were walking along English Bay and we met this really nice guy who coincidentally works in my field. It’s funny who sometimes the universe give you a sign.

I know in my heart that I’m ready to move on and forward with my life and I really want to take that chance and make it happen in Vancouver. If I went back east to the Toronto area, I know that I would regret not taking the chance to see what life could offer me here. it might make some other people happy for me to be closer to home, and I would enjoy being closer to my family (once in a while:P), but I know that right now, at this point in my life, Vancouver offers me excitement and adventure and the prospect of good things to come and I really want to take that opportunity and run with it. I want to try something new and different and push my own boundaries. I guess the bottom line is that two weeks in Vancouver have shed a lot of light into my life that I couldn’t see through all the rain clouds before  (hehe, it’s funny because Vancouver is super rainy this time of year 🙂 and I can’t wait to see rainbow on the other side.

So thank you Vancouver for introducing me to so many amazing people and for helping me reconnect with Andrea, Jess, and Daniel as well. I can’t wait to come back and this city better be prepared for my reign of fire! #thisgirlisonfirealiciakeys

Leave a Reply

